Ways to be Involved

Stay Connected! Get Involved! As a volunteer, you build important connections with our students and teachers.  You can show them how much you care about them and their school.  Most importantly, educational research demonstrates that greater parental involvement leads to academic success. (And it’s fun!) We’re always recruiting for new volunteers and we have volunteer…

SEEDS

Stimulate, Enrich, Engage, Develop, Service. This program encourages, coordinates, and supports garden and art improvements on campus by students, parents, and staff. Chairs: Natalie Christensen natalierkc@gmail.com Carol Shear  cshear@sandi.net

Yearbook

Representatives from each class work together to create and design a memorable yearbook, featuring highlights of activities and special events during the year.  5th graders on this committee work with the book publisher to decide on the theme for each yearly issue. Chairs: Jaimee Newcomer jnewcomer1@gmail.com Colleen Lighter colleenlighter@gmail.com

Fall Festival

The Bird Rock Foundation hosts an annual Fall Festival for BRE’s ghouls, ghosts, and goblins!  This is a school-wide event that includes games, inflatables, food trucks, a raffle drawing, beauty and photo booths, and LOTS of prizes. Halloween costumes are welcome.   Chairs: Marissa Brand marissa.brand@gmail.com Suzy Van Skike steve_and_suzy@yahoo.com Lisa Pulli lisapulli@yahoo.com

5th Grade Committee

Each year, fifth grade parents provide several special outing and service projects designed to promote class spirit and memories for students during their last year at BRE. Projects include: a variety show, 5th Grade Promotion Ceremony, and goodbye gift to beautify our campus. Chairs: Kim McIntyre kmoffie@aol.com Cara Day Albers caraalexisday@gmail.com

Health & Safety

This committee works with BRE administration and staff to educate students and parents about topics such as bike safety and earthquake preparedness. This group also helps maintain emergency supplies in classrooms. Chair: Amanda Stalder agstalder@gmail.com

Social Committee

This committee works to develop and promote both grade-level and school wide social activities at BRE.  They collaborate with community partners to plan fun activities for parents and families. Some examples include Happy Hours at Beaumonts, volunteer recruitment breakfasts, movie nights, etc.   Chairs: Jaimee Newcomer jnewcomer1@gmail.com Colleen Lighter colleenlighter@gmail.com  

Teacher/Staff Appreciation

Usually coinciding with Teacher Appreciation Day (also called National Teachers Day) this committee coordinates a week of celebration for teachers and staff who give so much of themselves throughout the year. Foundation and Teacher Appreciation Liaisons from each classroom coordinate daily ways to thank teachers and staff including a luncheon sponsored by the Foundation. Chair:…

Teacher Relief

This program provides parent support to teachers who need help with extra tasks such as cutting, folding, stapling, tracing, collating, etc. that take away from valuable teaching time. Chair: Erin Harris runnergrl@gmail.com Lindsay Ochello lindsayochello@gmail.com

Welcome Committee

This committee is a resource for new families at BRE throughout the year, offering support and guidance when needed. They hosts events during the summer for new BRE families such as Summer Playdates and the TK/K Picnic. This committee also hosts a new-parents breakfast on the first day of school. TK/K Chairs: Nicole Lahaie nicolelahaie@yahoo.com…